Skip to main content

3 Distributed Teams, new Scrum Master

Last post 03:29 pm February 11, 2019 by Max Heiliger
8 replies
11:05 am January 31, 2019

Hello everyone,

I'm a freshly minted Scrum Master (I was a teacher before) and I love this job.

I get along well with the people I work with, and I like offering people new ways of thinking and empowering them to make their own decisions.

The problem I have, though, is that I am in a very top-heavy organization, and my employer is asking me to not only lead three (distributed) scrum teams at once, but also be responsible for the implementation of the Scrum Process in IT.

Obviously, I am nowhere near qualified to do that. I thought my work would be with one team only, which taught me to ask more precise questions in my next job interview :D

Currently, I am trying to directly coach one team (which is hard over Skype) and work with the PO's in the other teams. As a result, I feel as though I am missing many valuable opportunities.

That being said, I like this job, and I like the company for giving me a chance even though I don't come from a tech background. I don't want to throw the towel.

How can I convince my CTO that every team needs their own Scrum Master? I have already tried once, but he rejected the idea as a waste of resources. I quote: "With a PO and a SM on every team, only 3/5 people do any actual work."

Are there any good resources, links, talks, stuff like that? How can I present my argument despite my lack of authority?

Thank you very much!

08:57 am February 1, 2019

Why do you need to convince the CTO that each team needs its own Scrum Master? Shouldn’t they self-organize their own SM with an appropriate time commitment, perhaps from among their own number? If the CTO objects to this, why?

03:38 pm February 1, 2019

Hello Ian, and thank you for your reply.