Skip to main content

PO and DoD

Last post 12:42 pm April 9, 2019 by Andrew McKenzie
4 replies
05:55 pm March 12, 2019

Hi everyone, so I am studying (still) to pass the PSM I. 

This question came up in an external website (recommended in this forum);

The Product Owner has doubts about the quality of the definition of “Done”. What should s/he do?

Answer: Increase the product quality by adaptation of the definition of done in the next sprint retrospective.

I got the answer correct, but at the same time I have doubts/ confusion.

So in the scrum guide it says:

If "Done" for an increment is not a convention of the development organization, the Development Team of the Scrum Team must define a definition of "Done" appropriate for the product.

If the dev team defines the DoD, how can the PO adapt the DoD?

I think I understand that the PO can influence the quality, but I thought that would be done more with items in the Product Backlog and order/importance.

Can someone help me understand a bit better this?

Thanks

06:59 pm March 12, 2019

The Scrum Guide says: “During each Sprint Retrospective, the Scrum Team plans ways to increase product quality by improving work processes or adapting the definition of "Done", if appropriate and not in conflict with product or organizational standards.”

Hence the Product Owner, as a Scrum Team member, can help to adapt the Definition of Done.

The Product Owner’s ultimate sanction over product quality lies in his or her authority to release.

If the Product Owner has any doubts about quality then, in order to avoid waste, he or she ought to raise the concern immediately with the Development Team, and not wait until the Sprint Retrospective.

03:49 pm March 25, 2019

Ok, so the Dev team can DEFINE the DoD, and the Scrum Team can ADAPT the DoD as more is know etc.

In your experience though, is the PO involved/influence in Defining the DoD?

Thanks

07:41 pm March 25, 2019