Skip to main content

Are extensive programming skils needed to succeed as Product Owner

Last post 01:25 pm March 18, 2019 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
03:28 pm March 13, 2019

Is it a must to have mid-senior level programming skilss to suceed as product owner.

I have some experience with python, html, css, php, but all of them are junior level projects and was wondering if i need to master programming as well.

Thank you once again.

04:56 pm March 13, 2019

You seem to suspect that you might need these skills, now or in the future, to fulfill the role of Product Owner. Can you explain why? How would *you* use them to improve value, bearing in mind that development work ought to be performed by Development Team members?

03:35 pm March 14, 2019

@Ian raises great points because quite honestly, I prefer it when my Product Owners have no development experience.  I have found it helps them to focus on their defining the "problems" that need to be solved and letting the Development Team focus on the technology.  That way both of the roles can easier respect the fact that both of them will do what is best for the team and the company. 

Having said that I have worked with Product Owners that have had development backgrounds and it had mixed results.  It has helped them understand impediments or concerns raised by the Development Teams.  But there is fine line between understanding and being involved when you are used to being part of the technical solutions. A few of my previous-developer-Product Owners had a real hard time separating themselves from trying to direct the technical solutions, especially when they had been doing development for a long time.