Skip to main content

Definition of Done & "industry standards" for Software Development ?

Last post 01:14 pm June 26, 2019 by Conor Quinlan
4 replies
03:01 pm June 25, 2019

Hello from London!

I'm a Delivery Manager & have a cross functional scrum team of 7. We're currently transforming some of our ways of working as we migrate to Azure. As part of this we've discussed what our "definition of done" should be. I appreciate there's tons of other threads about this but hopefully my question is unique...

The Scrum definition: "Definition of Done: a shared understanding of expectations that the Increment must live up to in order to be releasable into production. Managed by the Development Team"

I appreciate the "Definition of Done" should apply to the whole increment...

My question: whilst there isn't a set list of what should be included as part of the "definition of done" from a delivery perspective (i.e. development,test,release,deployment "checks"), can anyone advise if there is anthing resembling an "industry standard" setlist of what is good practice?

Many Thanks in Advance - 

04:08 pm June 25, 2019

04:37 pm June 25, 2019

The idea of an "industry standard" is very hard to define in the context of software product development. Software is often a supporting function of a company in a different industry or designed to support a particular customer base in a given industry. Software built to support regulated industries, such as aerospace, medical or pharmaceutical, or financial, is often different than software built in or for other industries or functions. Considering the context of the developing organization is important when defining the definition of done.