Skip to main content

Newly certified SM looking for a job, not getting a lot of responses.

Last post 10:05 am July 16, 2019 by Stephen Sykes
9 replies
04:06 pm June 25, 2019

So, I thought I would try a new cover letter. Here is my template tell me what you think. Any help would be appreciated. 

I am writing to express my interest in the position of Scrum Master. My 20 years of IT experience motivating scrum teams to perform their best work and my comprehensive understanding of agile software development make me a great fit for your organization. I have more than 20 years of IT experience including meeting facilitation and collaboration as a Business Analyst and Incident Manager which will allow me to lead your team of talented product developers in their Agile development.

Strengths:

Certified Scrum Master.

20 years of IT experience, 5 as a business analyst

Knowledgeable in IT development frameworks.

Excellent motivator.

Great fundamental understanding of business principles.

Excellent communicator.

Goal oriented.

Highly- organized; conducts effective scrum sessions.

07:54 pm June 25, 2019

Not sure where you live but my experience in the US is that new Scrum Master have a really hard time getting jobs. I have only recently added Agile Coach to my long list of titles because my current company decided to pursue a more disciplined approach to agile software development. I have 33 years of experience beginning my Senior year of College. But applying for jobs as Scrum Master or Agile Coach has earned me a lot of "you don't have enough experience" even if, like you, I have been doing agile practices for over 20 years. I started using Lean and XP practices even before the Agile Manifesto for Software Development was written.