Skip to main content

Story points - Clarity

Last post 09:52 pm July 8, 2019 by Timothy Baffa
3 replies
07:11 pm July 8, 2019

I'm a new Project Manager and learning to be a SCRUM Master.I have questions on Story point assignments and re-estimation. Please share your thoughts and experience that worked well

Stories in the current sprint get story points assigned during planning session

Should the team keep re-assessing the story points (reduce daily as per the work completed)? Or should the team leave it as such?

What should I do as a SCRUM Master to keep the team's burndown / velocity tracked right in JIRA

If a story is being moved from current sprint to next sprint (with 50% completion) should the storypoint be re-assessed to provide a new estimate based on the remaining workload?

THanks

09:09 pm July 8, 2019

I'm a new Project Manager and learning to be a SCRUM Master.

@Bhuvaneswari Sambandam, Both these roles are at two ends of the spectrum and you may need to start by understanding how different they are. A project manger is not a Scrum Master and vice versa.

From my experience and understanding, Sprint Planning should not be the only event when stories can be estimated. This can be done during Backlog Refinement too, however, the estimates can change at the time of Sprint Planning, if more is learned at that time.

Should the team keep re-assessing the story points (reduce daily as per the work completed)? Or should the team leave it as such?

Once the estimates have been finalized i.e. once the stories are in the Sprint Backlog and the Sprint has started, there is no need to adjust it. It can be re-estimated prior to that if needed.

What should I do as a SCRUM Master to keep the team's burndown / velocity tracked right in JIRA