Skip to main content

Who own's the parent work item

Last post 07:23 pm July 23, 2019 by Lauren Goff
3 replies
09:22 am July 23, 2019

Hi guys, im pretty new to the process and using vsts. We / our team seems to have differing opinions on on who is assigned the Product Backlog Item.

For example,

A PBI could have tasks for development which I could be assigned as im  doing them, and there could be tasks for QA / testing which could be assigned to someone else.

So given a PBI with multiple people working on it, who would you assign the actual PBI to?

Thanks

04:03 pm July 23, 2019

The PBI is assigned to the entire Scrum Team as everyone is responsible for the value it provides. If I were the one involved in this as a Scrum Master, I would take this as a coaching moment to help everyone understand and appreciate that concept.

What purpose does assigning stories provide? Why do you have to assign anything?  Can't the Development Team discuss who is working on what in the Daily Scrum and not assign tasks in VSTS? The team should agree that the story is done based upon the acceptance criteria provided with the story statememt. And who is actually assigning this work?  

It has been a while since I used VSTS but I don't remember that you have to assign tasks or stories.  So you should be able to complete all of the work without assigning anything in the tool. 

04:48 pm July 23, 2019

We / our team seems to have differing opinions on on who is assigned the Product Backlog Item.

Who has it to begin with?

07:23 pm July 23, 2019

I've run into this situation quite often, as most tools (VSTS now Azure Devops, Jira, etc) have a mechanism for assigning tasks.

The short answer is that it doesn't matter who is assigned the task, so long as it works for the Development Team and that they understand the boundaries of Scrum.