Skip to main content

Data Integration development and Scrum

Last post 07:40 pm February 6, 2023 by Kevin Kunch
6 replies
09:30 am July 26, 2019

I work as a BA within a team that predominantly works on Data Integration activities.  We have a vendor system, into which we load different types of data, from a variety of sources.  We validate the data and create a golden copy.  We export data from it, with differing content and formats,  it to a variety of target systems.

Traditionally the BA’s have written mapping documents (using Excel) to describe the data import/export requirements.  These documents are fairly tightly controlled and aligned to the software release versions.

As a team we have recently moved to a Scrum way of working and User Stories have been developed which include the mapping document.  To keep the stories small they are not entirely independent; there is a basic story and then subsequent refinements.

Not a great example but here goes:

Story 1: Send of file of all invoices to system Z.

Story 2: Only send invoices from a subset of suppliers to system Z.

Story 3: Only want to send invoices that haven’t been fully paid to system Z.

Story 4: Only send an invoices over a certain value weekly, all other are sent monthly.

You get the gist.  So the mapping document would normally include these additional criteria specified in stories 2,3 and 4 but I do not want to include these in the mapping document for Story 1 but I also do not want to have 4 versions of this mapping document that I need to keep updated (for example an error in version for story 1 would have to be corrected in four versions).

How would others approach this issue ? I’m all for following the “working software over comprehensive documentation” paradigm but our dev and test teams are difficult to budge.

03:46 pm July 26, 2019