Skip to main content

How should report to the manager given the uncertainty in the estimation and planning?

Last post 08:24 pm July 29, 2019 by Timothy Baffa
4 replies
09:12 am July 27, 2019

I am a developer who get a little bit chance to serve as scrum master last year. I understand that in scrum, planning and estimation is an evolving process. However, I believe a lot of companies are actually mixing scrum with other styles. For instance, in my company, the managers are always expecting an concrete plan. I can understand the managers need the confirm answer to feel securited. But sometimes I feel difficult to handle this situation. If I tell them with confidence(which I actually not) they might get disappointed in the end. If I tell them the risk, they also feel I am not doing good job and everything lost control. And they are more happy to those colleagues that are always say confidencely that everything will be done even without ask the development team. Maybe the managers need more information about  how scrum works, but as a developer, I don't have much chance to talk to the manager, and it is impossible for me to 'educate'them. Any suggestion about how to handle such cases?

11:08 am July 28, 2019

Although it's not necessarily a concrete plan, the outcome of Sprint Planning is a selection of work that the Development Team believes they can accomplish over the course of the Sprint, a Sprint Goal that can guide and focus the team on the most important outcomes or objectives of the Sprint, and a plan to do the work.

If you have a stable team, after a few Sprints worth of work, you have information that can be used to forecast the work that can be done in an upcoming Sprint. If you know the tolerance for risk of the organization, you can consider this when computing how much work to plan on achieving during the upcoming Sprint, using the past work and team's capacity.