Skip to main content

What should the Scrum Team do when the Sprint Planning is postpone?

Last post 12:28 pm October 24, 2019 by Ícaro Nascimento
6 replies
07:36 pm October 18, 2019

Hi, my name is Ícaro and I'm studying for PSM I.

One of my doubts is about postponing the Sprint Planning. 

Supose my team works with 15 days Sprints and today is the Sprint Planning day, but the PO is sick and won't coming. 

We decide to postpone the event because the PO has to attend the event.

In this case, what should the Development Team should be idle? Should poll the next PBI?

That's all folks!

08:33 pm October 18, 2019

The PO should have the Product Backlog ready constantly. It should be updated as new requests come in. Might think of it as a daily task for some PO's.

The Dev team doesn't require a PO to approve a Sprint Goal, although they should be working together to craft one. As long as the PBI's are in place, team should be able to craft a Sprint Goal, and select the appropriate PBI's to obtain it.

At the end of Planning, it's the Dev team that kicks off the Sprint anyways.

10:10 pm October 18, 2019

One of my doubts is about postponing the Sprint Planning.

Is it understood that regardless of when Sprint Planning occurs, and whoever does or does not attend Scrum events, the Product Owner will nevertheless remain accountable for the value delivered?

09:33 pm October 19, 2019

Ian, I understand the PO's accountability on that.

Guys, should a Scrum Team accomplish the Sprint Planning without the Product Owner?

Is this role mandatory or not? I agree with what John said.

Thanks John! Thanks Ian!

07:45 am October 21, 2019

Hi Icaro,

John already almost wrote everything. 

Per definition the Sprint starts after the Retro of the previous sprint. So the team should try to do the best with the Sprint and do some planning without PO, maybe for the days he reported sick. Some PBI should be already discussed in the Refinement f.e. and the Backlog should be ordered.