Skip to main content

One dev team shared on multiple products

Last post 02:33 pm November 12, 2019 by Martin Defourny
5 replies
03:13 pm November 8, 2019

Hi everyone,

I need some insight on a situation we have at work:

I work as a Scrum Master in the IT department of an insurance company. We have agile teams working on separate products. Our issue is that some teams are really small (2 dev team members, sometimes even 1 dev) and we have a hard time finding good profiles to join them (people with the skills and the right mindset).

We've decided that those small teams are not efficient enough (not enough interactions) and we've been working on reorganizing our IT departement.

We've redefined the products we are responsible for and we determined there are 4 of them. We also have a rough vision of what we want to achieve on each product for the next year. We have a single Product Owner on each product but not enough dev people to form 4 real scrum teams.

My question now : Can we have a single development team (or max. 2 dev teams) switching from one product to the next regularly throughout the year or is it not recommended ?

Maybe have them work 3 to 4 sprints on a product and then switch to the next.

Can we have products on "idle-time" for a period of time ? If there is no team assigned to a product, who is accountable for operationnal maintenance (i.e. : bug fixing, data quality, ...) ?

Personnally, I'd rather keep my dev teams as stable as possible. I think having stable teams helps with maintaining quality (same DoD, same coding standards,...)

Looking forward to your advices and point-of-views.

Regards,

Martin

03:49 pm November 8, 2019

I had several thoughts as I read this, hope you don't mind the detail. :)