Skip to main content

First job as Scrum Master

Last post 07:36 pm May 1, 2020 by John Colletti
13 replies
05:03 pm November 21, 2019

Hi everyone,

So I graduated school recently with an Infosystems degree. Decided I wanted to explore the world of Scrum and Agile. I took a bootcamp training course for Scrum Agile and got my PSM certification. Had an internship as an IT intern and learned office practices and some agile practices. Didn’t have much experience, but then soon after applied as a scrum master and got hired as a contractor for a company based in Virginia, USA. 

My first week as a scrum master has been quite rough because I came onboard this team in the middle of a project. For now they have me shadowing some more senior level scrum masters/ pm’s, but I feel so lost during our daily stand-ups and other team meetings. The current project utilizes Geo-Spatial tools like Oracle spatial studio. 

any tips for a younger person trying to become comfortable in their role? 

06:34 pm November 21, 2019

You're in somewhat of an advantageous position in some aspects. You can leverage your 'newness' to ask some innocent or naive questions around the 'why' to get team members thinking about current processes and patterns from a process standpoint. 

My other tip is to not try to change the world too soon. Do lots of listening and observing of the current landscape and the team or organizational patterns that may be preventing them from achieving the most value out of the Scrum Framework. Helping the team get small wins can allow you to build trust and respect as you develop your relationship with your team members. 

07:57 pm November 21, 2019

Thank you for the advice Tony! I had those ideas in mind as I am conforming to my role here. Hope to learn a lot and definitely will keep your suggestions in mind and observe the team over the next few weeks. 

Thanks

08:06 pm November 21, 2019

my advise is "learn to listen and listen to learn"..