Skip to main content

Scrum Values and Principles VS Team Performance review during appraisal

Last post 05:24 pm December 3, 2019 by Timothy Baffa
5 replies
06:01 am December 2, 2019

Dear All,

I have been working with agile/scrum environment for last 3 years. I came across several different challenges, some of them are already handled and while I am still struggling with remaining. Team performance review with respect to appraisal is one of them. I want to open this topic here where we have lots of experts who have been working on or with agile/scrum from a long period of time. While learning about agile/scrum I was taught not to micromanage, let the team decide how much amount of they need to choose. The scrum teaches us that progress should be monitored in a timely manner (sprint review) and in retrospective we should discuss not to pinpoint issues, but to see how we can improve in the upcoming sprint. My question is how do we track individual performance for early performance review. Tracking individual resource work status during retrospect (assigned vs completed/done), will lead me to micromanagement (which I dont want to do) which might result in the losing some of the scrum values such as courage, focus, openness and respect.

Can anybody advise how better I can keep a balance between individual performance track without losing scrum values (courage, focus, openness and respect) or maybe any alternative for doing the same thing differently? I am open for suggestions and other possible ways where  I can keep the balance between Management and team where the team can be fairly awarded during their appraisal.   

Thanks in advance

02:55 pm December 2, 2019

If you're struggling with this, the problem is not scrum, agile, or team performance. The problem is the yard stick being used to measure the team members. Have you tried to get the metrics used by your organization changed to be more team focused?

05:23 pm December 2, 2019