Skip to main content

How to use scrum in this situation

Last post 02:51 am December 27, 2019 by Eik Hong Tang
5 replies
10:05 pm December 23, 2019

I used to work as a project manager and now given a task as a scrum master. I have tried scrum before but this current assignment I am given is somewhat weird.

Our company is offering three product sets for a software that we are selling - Extreme, Mild, Normal (weird namings but anyway, these are just naming conventions). Extreme is the most expensive and is loaded with features, mild is mid, while normal is the cheapest.

Now our management wants to use scrum for this. I understand and based on my experience, scrum is more useful if the requirements are vague at first. For this case, each product set has already a defined set of features and more or less fixed. I want to argue to my management about it but I would like to know if I am in the right position to do so that we should just employ waterfall. Also, I cannot get the cooperation of our counterparts in client to assign a product owner for product backlog prioritization. Per them, we have paid for this package, customize it based on their requirements and then it should be good.

How do i deal with this?

05:18 am December 24, 2019

The Scrum Guide describes Scrum as:

A framework within which people can address complex adaptive problems, while productively and creatively delivering products of the highest possible value.

And goes on to say:

Scrum is founded on empirical process control theory, or empiricism. Empiricism asserts that knowledge comes from experience and making decisions based on what is known. Scrum employs an iterative, incremental approach to optimize predictability and control risk.