Skip to main content

Scrum Master and Burndown chart

Last post 09:06 pm January 10, 2020 by Mike Miller
14 replies
12:17 am January 7, 2020

The SM needs to track the burndown chart on a daily basis to monitor Dev Teams progress, so that he can be aware of how the team is performing and coach them accordingly. I was told by an interviewer so that SM can ahead of the game.. I did not agree and responded stating it is not SMs job to track the team progress and it becomes a PM role.  I have no SM experience and interviewed for the first time. What is the best way to handle such questions? 

02:31 am January 7, 2020

I am sorry but i did not understand why the SM needs to track the burn down chart. Is the team not aware of their progress (via stand-up)? 

Also, the phrase "So that SM can be ahead of the game", what does that mean?

07:06 am January 7, 2020

It seems a very prescriptive approach.

But if a Scrum Master is expected to monitor team metrics or performance, being able to effectively coach the team is one of the better reasons for doing so.

I would be more suspicious if the Scrum Master is expected to report performance to others, or manage the team based on such performance.

In such a situation, I might ask what insights the interviewer feels the Scrum Master would learn from the burndown chart, and discuss other suitable techniques to achieve this. For example, if the motivation is to get control of flow, it may be more effective to measure cycle time and review outliers, and to supplement that with monitoring and restricting the amount of simultaneous work in progress.

09:20 am January 7, 2020

I was told by an interviewer so that SM can ahead of the game

What is the best way to handle such questions? 

Was it a question, or were you being "told" something by the interviewer which he or she was convinced of?

11:06 am January 7, 2020