Skip to main content

My PSM III Journey

Last post 10:41 am May 13, 2020 by Gongyuan Chen
4 replies
07:37 am February 3, 2020

After I shared my achievement of PSM III on Linkedin, many people asked me for sharing materials to learn. I promised I will share my own experience instead of any specific tip or material. So please don't judge what is good or not good. I hope you can take a few good tips from my sharing. Otherwise, just go ahead with your learning process.

At the highest level, scrum.org will evaluate your understanding mostly about the followings:

• Empiricism
  • Self-organizing
  • Done
  • Transparency
  • Scrum values

And below is my PSM III journey:

(1) Set a correct objective

I believe if you make enough effort you can get anything done including passing the PSM III exam. However, to be honest I only think about PSM III when I really love and want to master my Scrum knowledge.

(2) Read a lot

Beside Scrum Guide, I studied a lot from excellent books and articles. I am grateful to learn from books of Ken Schwaber, Jeff Sutherland, Mike Cohn, Gunther Verheyen; posts by Barry Overeem, Christiaan Verwijs, Ian Mitchell, Chris Belknap & other scrum.org PSTs; many blogs & articles from Scrum.org & other websites like medium.com.

(3) Build learning in my daily work

I didn't put any pressure on me to have PSM III quickly in a few months. My role is to support the company, teams, leaders, and developers understand Agile mindset, Scrum framework, how to effectively work in Scrum teams. So, I read a lot but do this on purpose. My daily work relates to internal coaching & training, and this is my advantage as I can take time to investigate every concept, practices deeply before sharing with others and help them understand sufficiently. I also create a file to store all links to good articles, blogs so that I can revisit later.

(4) Have a good preparation with level 1, level 2 scrum.org certificates.