Skip to main content

A blasphemous question?

Last post 04:35 am March 23, 2020 by Sherwin Soriano
5 replies
07:55 pm March 17, 2020

Hello. I am new to Scrum.org and I am working on my Prof. Scrum Master certification.  I have seen that if you have too few people, Scrum may not be for your and your group.  Got it and understand why.  My question is, what if you don't have the complexity in your projects?  For example, most of the projects for the last few scrums were all making changes to program logic to account for new situations.  Additionally, the changes were to different parts of a program (one to operations and another to invoicing for example) or completely different programs. Developer time (not counting code review-testing-user testing-release scheduling) is at a max of 4 hours per change request.  There is enough for 4 programmers, but no large Epic that was broken down to make the stories.  Should Scrum still apply, despite the lack of complexity needing to be managed (just volume in this case)?

09:47 pm March 17, 2020

My question is, what if you don't have the complexity in your projects?  For example, most of the projects for the last few scrums were all making changes to program logic to account for new situations. 

Don't those "new situations" introduce uncertainty, through which product complexity then increases?

12:22 am March 18, 2020

too few people? What does that mean?

02:58 pm March 18, 2020

Going to pull some passages from the Scrum Guide before I answer. Any emphasis was added by me.

From Definition of Scrum

Rather, it is a framework within which you can employ various processes and techniques. Scrum makes clear the relative efficacy of your product management and work techniques so that you can continuously improve the product, the team, and the working environment.

From Uses of Scrum

Scrum has been used extensively, worldwide, to:

1. Research and identify viable markets, technologies, and product capabilities;