Skip to main content

Sprint planning - Start of Sprint?

Last post 08:05 am April 27, 2020 by Ian Mitchell
3 replies
09:31 am April 24, 2020

Hi fellow Scrumsters 

Im new to the game so trying to get my head around some of the ceremonies / planning. 

Sprint planning is documented to be part of the Sprint and is supposed to happen at the start.

• How do I start a Sprint with nothing planned in at the beginning? Using JIRA I cannot click the start button on an empty Sprint. I can see it being part of the previous sprint but as a last ceremony before starting the next one. Is this correct?

• When building out a Sprint the tasks need estimating. Is this done during the planning phase? Sometimes this may take a while where I have been adding tasks as a Spike. Is this correct?

04:06 pm April 24, 2020

David - To get started with your first Sprint, once you have a Scrum Team, they will need a Definition of "Done" and enough "ready" Product Backlog for the first Sprint. A vision statement from the Product Owner would also be beneficial. The best advice I can give is to get started ASAP.

How do I start a Sprint with nothing planned in at the beginning? Using JIRA I cannot click the start button on an empty Sprint. I can see it being part of the previous sprint but as a last ceremony before starting the next one. Is this correct?

Regarding Sprint Planning and Jira, once the Scrum Team has crafted a Sprint Goal, the Dev Team has to move the Product Backlog items into the Sprint. Once they have decided on their capacity and what can get done, then in Jira the Sprint can be started, but you cannot start it without at least 1 PBI.

When building out a Sprint the tasks need estimating. Is this done during the planning phase? Sometimes this may take a while where I have been adding tasks as a Spike. Is this correct?