Skip to main content

Keeping complex topics, simple

Last post 06:00 pm April 29, 2020 by Mike Minikowski
4 replies
08:57 pm April 27, 2020

Hello everyone, I hope this finds you well.

I work as a Scrum Master with two teams developing a software product that is unsurprisingly, complex. The technologies in use are fairly young and our development team has undergone a large learning effort to get their understanding up to speed. In doing so, I've noticed something of a paradox.

We encourage the teams to own the way they work, so they tend to demand at least some technical specifications (made by themselves or our architect who is far and away the most proficient in these newer technologies) and exhaustive Acceptance Criteria. This leads to features with immense amounts of detail that often decompose into many PBIs that serve to represent logical parts of a whole, and can fit into our 1 week Sprints. 

Despite the carefully decomposed PBIs, we tend to realize we missed the mark on "big picture" architectural concepts after a while. We start to forget how the pieces come together or why we opted for this approach instead of another. It seems the more detail we add to features/PBIs, the "why are we building it this way?" can still escape the teams. It's never apparent from the start and I can never quite gauge the comprehension levels that our members are at. 

I think we could benefit from more simplicity. I am wondering if this sounds like something you've encountered and hoped for some shared experiences. 

Thank you,

Mike

05:57 am April 28, 2020

they tend to demand at least some technical specifications (made by themselves or our architect who is far and away the most proficient in these newer technologies) and exhaustive Acceptance Criteria. This leads to features with immense amounts of detail

Do they demand the right to explore and experiment before assuming detail? With the bigger picture in mind, how keen are they to engage in validated learning?