Skip to main content

Where to write the specs of a user story?

Last post 07:26 pm July 21, 2021 by Jappe Kieckens
2 replies
02:43 am May 9, 2020

Hi there, 

Im new to agile and i just used Asana to write user stores. And i have these questions:

1- Where to the write the detailed specs for each user story. As i used to write a detailed SRS that specify each use case, scenario, constrains, exceptions, messages. Are these all to be written within the user story? or different artifacts should be created? 

2- where the technical design come within agile? like system design, and database schema? 

3- It is ok to keep all these in Asana or Jira? or i should export everything in single document? 

Thanks in advance. 

11:54 pm May 10, 2020

With design and associate design documentation, it's important to keep the value of

Working software over comprehensive documentation

which is supported by principles such as

Our highest priority is to satisfy the customer through early and continuous delivery of valuable software.

and

Business people and developers must work together daily throughout the project.

and

The most efficient and effective method of conveying information to and within a development team is face-to-face conversation.

and

Simplicity--the art of maximizing the amount of work not done--is essential.

These all come from the Manifesto for Agile Software Development.

Keeping these in mind, we can say that there may not need to be detailed specs for a user story. The original intent for a user story was a card that serves as a placeholder for a conversation. Originally, much of the conversation was face-to-face, but in today's world there may be phone calls, email threads, video conferences, or other means of communication. The documentation would supplement the conversations.