Skip to main content

Switching career path

Last post 12:00 pm June 7, 2020 by Gongyuan Chen
9 replies
04:18 am June 1, 2020

Hi There,

I have overall 7 years of experience in Business Development in the IT Industry and Product companies. I have a passion to work on project delivery however I don't have work experience on the sprints and agile. My friend suggested doing Scrum Master certification to start off with switching the career. I would like to hear some more opinions here like where to start and how to proceed further from here. your guidance matters a lot!

Many Thanks in advance!

Mithi 

08:56 pm June 2, 2020

Well before you invest money into a certification, I'd suggest learning about the role to make sure it is a fit for you and your goals and personality. With your experience in Business Development I think you'd have a better shot of getting into a Product Owner role; that fits your experience more than a Scrum Master. Read the Scrum Guide and do some more research on the roles and then check with local recruiters in your area to see how feasible it is for you to break into the role of your choice given your experience. Getting a certification may help getting you an interview but it doesn't in any way guarantee a job.

12:55 am June 3, 2020

Are you sure you want to leave technology sales behind? That's where the big bucks are (with commission of course)! In fact, you could do a hybrid role if you're technically inclined. A Solutions Architect in a client-facing software consulting role gets the best of both worlds.

But if you want to move into software development and product management, you can be a Scrum Master or a Product Owner. You could also go into being a Delivery Manager and be responsible for acquiring and assigning resources to the Product organization. Many Project Managers go down the Scrum Master path and many Business Analysts and customer-centric technologists become Product Owners.

Could you expand on what YOU want to do?