Skip to main content

Failed sprint - every single time

Last post 08:17 pm June 15, 2020 by Alexandra Kuhn-Spannbauer
5 replies
09:26 am June 12, 2020

I am new to my role as scrum master and I have a problem with the sprints in one of my teams:

every single sprint is failed and we have tons of tickets, that are not ready, which are moved to the next sprint.

1. the team is to big. I would split this in 2 teams. There would then be just one product backlog but 2 sprint backlogs, is that correct? 

2. there are always problems with the tickets: somone got sick, the necessary meetings could not be held, as the other person was not available, etc. And all is plausible and I could not have changed this.

We always plan the "leftover" SP into the next sprint, so that the people should be able to finish everything, but nothing seems to work. And everything is always super important and cannot be moved to way later. 

How could we start from a clean slate so that this will not happen in the future, as I think, if we continue like this, nothing will change.

Thank you for helping out,

Alexandra

06:25 pm June 12, 2020

Would you describe product ownership as being effective? Does the Product Owner help the team to agree clear and valuable Sprint Goals which make the selection of work coherent?

07:33 pm June 12, 2020

Your post seems full of excuses for bad behavior.  Your #2 brings to mind bad refinement practices, external dependencies that are not identifed, siloed knowledge on the Development Team. Someone getting sick should not prevent a cross-functional self-organizing team from adapting their workload to pick up work from their teammate.  Meetings not occurring is an excuse for not gathering the necessary information ahead of work starting or some kind of gating sign-off.  Both are refinement activities that seem to be incomplete.