Skip to main content

Transitioning to Agile

Last post 10:54 am July 12, 2020 by Alessia Mariani
5 replies
09:19 am July 10, 2020

Hello,

This might be too big a question for the forum but I’d appreciate any advice from people who have gone through a similar experience.

I’m a project manager who has worked on prince2 and generally waterfall methodology. The company I work for have been wanting to become agile and it’s fallen on me to try and do the transition. 

I have done a lot of reading on the subject and have decided to focus on scrum to begin with and go for the PSM certifications. My aim is to become an agile coach eventually to help the company more. There is a lot of resistance amongst some of the developers to follow any methodology that has strict rules and ideally I would like to master other agile frameworks so that I can suggest and help implement the best one for each product we have (we have several products on different platforms) as well as being able to properly coach people through the transition.

I appreciate that I seem to want to run before I can walk but I wonder whether focusing only on Scrum to begin with is the wrong thing to do.

I wonder how other people approached the transition to Agile, does everyone need to be trained professionally or can the Scrum Master do it alone?

Thanks,

Alessia

03:42 pm July 10, 2020

There's a lot to this and organizational change of this magnitude is typically no small feat. You mentioned your company wanted to become agile... what is the driving factor behind this desire to change? 

Staying on the leadership topic... Has your company's executive leadership communicated this 'why' to the company? Why is this important, why now, what may happen if we do not change? In addition to this, do you feel they understand their contributions towards the success of a change like this?