Skip to main content

Sprint goal

Last post 03:13 pm July 22, 2020 by Bart van Houdt
3 replies
08:46 am July 21, 2020

Good day 

I am currently working as an intern in an organization using scrum for their product delivery. Beforehand I have studied quite a bit about scrum, reading the guide and a lot of information from scrum.org as well as doing research for my thesis on scrum . So I feel like I have a lot of knowledge on the subject...but of course mainly theoretical...

Now what I have noticed is even in my previous internship and this one is that when a sprint is going on, there is mostly no Sprint goal. A bunch of items from the backlog is put into the sprint and then the team tries to work through as many  items as possible and at the end...whatever items are left over are carried over to the next sprint..

Now practically I understand why this is being done because you can’t always have a concrete sprint goal at the end or an increment to produce( even though scrum says we should always have a goal and an increment ). Also not all products being delivered can be broken down into different sprint goals for different sprints.

So I totally understand practically why this is. But I would like to know what the experienced people think about this..Must there always be a goal at the end of the sprint and aren’t there instances where you simply cannot have different goals in each sprint and you simply have to work through backlog items.

I feel like I have to get all my facts straight before saying something about it because i am quite sure they have been working like this for a while with no complaints...

Thanks all

03:06 pm July 21, 2020

There is little point in sprinting without a Sprint Goal to aim for. It makes the selection of work for that Sprint coherent, and the result more than the sum of its parts. The Sprint Backlog then continues to emerge, in a complex domain, as a forecast of the work needed to meet the Goal.