Skip to main content

How do I assign the right number of Test Analysts to a scrum team?

Last post 03:40 pm August 4, 2020 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
06:47 pm August 3, 2020

I am a Test Manager who has recently taken over a team of Agile Quality Assurance analysts.

In each scrum team, there are 5 Developers to 1 QA, and he is overwhelmed with work! Invariably the team are waiting for him to complete the QA, and he constantly feels under pressure.

They use story points to estimate the effort for each Story/Sprint, so perhaps they need to increase the number of story points to more accurately reflect the testing effort. But that alone wont eliminate the pressure for my QA Analyst. If 5 developers all finish their work in parallel, he is still under pressure to complete the testing to meet the Sprint end date.

What am I missing here? I can assign more QA's but I want to be sure each one is fully utilised. How do the team estimate the testing effort more accurately so we can assign the right number of QA's? In Sprint one of the key principles is that you should not separate the Design, Development and Testing effort.

11:45 pm August 3, 2020

In each scrum team, there are 5 Developers to 1 QA, and he is overwhelmed with work! Invariably the team are waiting for him to complete the QA, and he constantly feels under pressure.

Why aren't they self-organizing as a team? They currently sound like a silo of individuals and I am going to assume they aren't working towards a Sprint Goal, right?

They use story points to estimate the effort for each Story/Sprint, so perhaps they need to increase the number of story points to more accurately reflect the testing effort. But that alone wont eliminate the pressure for my QA Analyst. If 5 developers all finish their work in parallel, he is still under pressure to complete the testing to meet the Sprint end date.