Skip to main content

Scrum Master needs tips on trying to land next gig

Last post 03:35 pm December 27, 2021 by Roxana Hernandez
7 replies
01:29 am August 20, 2020

Hey all, first time posting here. I am recently PSM I certified, but my current company is really failing. Recently, I've been on paternity leave for 11 weeks. On my 2nd week of leave, my entire team was laid off. Additionally, a related team was completely cut as well, plus yet another team close to us had every member quit. I figured during my leave, I would push hard to get another job as a Technical Scrum Master, but I have been struggling a lot.

Since I've only more recently transitioned into the role officially (prior to this I was a software engineer), very few companies are even willing to talk to me for even an introductory call. I've had only one interview in 3 months. I also don't know if my resume is well geared/suited to companies wanting to contact me for SM roles particularly. I was wondering if there were any tips that some of the people who have been around this more would have to making oneself more attractive to a company looking for an SM (or preferrably a TSM), because while I really like this path of career, the lack of responses are getting very discouraging.

05:41 pm August 20, 2020

What have you learned about the challenges a Scrum Master faces within an organization? It sounds as though you have experience of organization-level impediments and dysfunctions. Have you highlighted these problems, and what you did to try and mitigate them, in your CV or resume?

Reflect upon your envisioned role of "Technical Scrum Master", which does not exist in Scrum. To what extent does that "technical" qualifier represent or reflect an organizational constraint? What is a so-called "technical" Scrum Master not doing that a Scrum Master would otherwise expect to do?

09:36 pm August 20, 2020