Skip to main content

Why Story Points cannot be starting from 10 , 20 , 40, 80 (higher number value)

Last post 07:15 am September 16, 2020 by Ryan Brook
6 replies
06:39 pm September 13, 2020

Can Story Points start with higher numbers like 10, 20 , 40 80,160,320  and so on? 

Purpose : Just story pointing

Yes, the ask is different from our usual way of Story Pointing (1,2,3,5,8,13,20,40 , etc) but can a team decide to go with 10,20,40,80  way :)

04:46 pm September 14, 2020

can a team decide to go with 10,20,40,80

Would doing so improve their ability to forecast how much work they can take on in a Sprint?

04:47 pm September 14, 2020

Back when I was a developer, I used to (half-jokingly) threaten to not estimate anything for less than 1,000,000 points unless the manager would stop using velocity as a performance metric.

Actually story points are an optional practice, and there is no universally agreed way of using them. If a Development Team find it helpful to estimate with the numbers that you provide, then of course they can do that.

But what is the purpose of having every value as a multiple of 10? Wouldn't it be easier to just use 1,2,4,8, etc?

Could having such large numbers (and therefore large gaps between them) encourage teams to pursue the level of precision that story points are intended to discourage?

08:46 pm September 14, 2020