Skip to main content

Just Passed PSM-I... Should I Immediately take CSM?

Last post 10:48 am December 8, 2020 by Ryan Brook
7 replies
09:05 pm November 23, 2020

Good afternoon. 

I took the PSM-I exam just yesterday and scored a 95%.  I studied, very, very hard for this test.  I thought it was quite difficult.  I'm wondering, since I have all the information in my head, if I should quickly take the CSM exam without studying any more.  I know I have to sit through the class, but am wondering if I am well prepped for the CSM having just took the PSM?  Thank you!

06:08 pm November 24, 2020

Why not try PSM II?

08:59 pm November 24, 2020

Great question, I would really would love to take the PSM II and I likely will.  I work in the Federal Government space and for some reason CSM seems to be the most recognized. I find that interesting (odd) because all my research shows PSM is much more stringent of a test as for as your Scrum knowledge is concerned.

12:01 pm November 29, 2020

Have you taken a CSM course? As far as I am aware, you must take a CSM course in order to challenge the CSM exam.

Having completed both CSM and PSM, I can share that I switched my study focus to Scrum.org as I find Scrum.org standards to be higher and the associated learning richer.

With Scrum.org you can take training or you can opt to train yourself through self-study and experience. You can challenge a number of Scrum.org exams for the cost of one CSM course.

CSM requires the payment of fees every few years. Rightly or wrongly, I do maintain my CSM fees as many companies do still look for this cert, but I gain no other value from this (not sure how long I will continue this).

If you want to take your Scrum Master knowledge to the next level, PSM II will support that. I have loved the journey and the learning through the Professional Scrum paths. So much so that I am focusing on PSM III now.

04:37 pm November 30, 2020