Skip to main content

Technical stories in the sprint review

Last post 07:02 pm January 2, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
10 replies
03:49 pm December 21, 2020

Hi,

I work with one of a group of teams in my organisation that are collaborating to build a new but increasingly complex product, based on a shared product backlog. I find that our sprint reviews give a good account of typical user stories, i.e. adding new functionality for the end user, but I'm yet to find the best way of presenting more technically oriented work. Some examples:

1) As a System Administrator, I need to be able to backup and restore the application.

2) As a Customer, I require that the software can be deployed on my organisation's chosen Kubernetes platform.

3) As an IT Security Officer, I require that the application's internal architecture meets <some security standards>.

I'd be interested to learn how others present non-visual user stories in sprint reviews. One answer might be that the 'users' are not real users, they are more like stakeholders, so these are not valid user stories and should not be included in the review. But they certainly have value to our Product Owner and he's happy to prioritise them on the backlog, they need testing and documentation, etc, so I prefer to accept them as stories. If that's the case, how to demo something that can't be demo'd (at least, not in a reasonable time)? Conventional wisdom is to avoid using slides in sprint reviews, but perhaps this is an exception?

A key point for me is that these architectural changes tend to be among the most challenging tasks, so I would like the developers to get the visibility and credit they deserve for completing such work. Any thoughts welcome.

07:52 pm December 21, 2020

so I would like the developers to get the visibility and credit they deserve for completing such work.

Why? Is the value provided by each product increment unsatisfactory?

08:16 pm December 21, 2020