Skip to main content

Product Owner

Last post 03:56 pm January 25, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
3 replies
01:16 pm January 23, 2021

Hi All

Like many, I need to re-tool my skill set to be appropriate to the current market. 

Scrum has been on the periphery of what I have done for some time and I have often flirted with the idea of becoming a Product Owner. My background is on the business end in senior management/executive roles for a global mobile phone manufacturer (Where I was responsible for the business management side of a software product. This included regular interaction with the product development team.) and a global software company. I have the qualifications one would expect of someone in such a role (MBA, Project Management dip. Marketing under grad etc.).

I have started studying for the CSPO exams and aim to complete them shortly. 

It would be great to get people's input on whether it is realistic for someone with no coding or first hand software development experience to expect to land a Product Owner role. 

Advice on routes into the market and methods by which I might gain experience are also welcome. 

I am in Australia.

Thanks in advance.

06:13 pm January 23, 2021

You only need coding knowledge if you want to gain the scrum for developers certification, as the name says it all. 

I am not a developer, and come from a PM background; however, I have already passed the PSM1 & PSK1 exams, and am looking at SPS as CSPO in the near future. 

Will having coding knowledge be benificial for a PO that will be in charge of a software development project?  Of course it will; however, it is not mandatory.  Also, there is nothing stopping you to start gaining a basic understanding of what ever programming languages the dveelopers wil be using once you are placed into such a PO role. 

I believe that your MBA will have given you a good set of skills that will help you become a great PO over time.

09:48 pm January 23, 2021