Skip to main content

Question: Issues with teams that went through restructuring

Last post 01:10 pm January 26, 2021 by roman Shtekelman
3 replies
06:41 pm January 25, 2021

HI, all.

I am an agile coach with few years of experience in Enterprise Agile coaching and hands on scrum master. Yet I wanted to ask a very basic question. In my upcoming interview I will be facing a following question:( the recruiter hinted) Give examples of issues you faced with teams that went through restructuring , ( presumably teams were previoulsy organised around functions ( Test/Dev/BA/etc) and restructured in squads around products or services. I have some examples but wanted to hear from you. Hope it will help someone else who is potentially facing similar questions in the interview or in resolving real life situations, any examples or references to information on the web are welcome. Thank you. 

09:48 pm January 25, 2021

Give examples of issues you faced with teams that went through restructuring

"went through restructuring sounds like an ordeal, as though it was something inflicted on them. If so, that would be an issue right there. Shouldn't teams be coached and mentored to self-organize, so increments of Done work are delivered better?

11:20 pm January 25, 2021

Are they bringing you on as a trainer, coach or mentor? All the "agile coach" titles I've worked with were trainers. Many organizations have professional coaches but they're embedded in HR. And mentorship can only happen if the mentor has specialized knowledge and skills at the work that the mentoree is doing.

If you fit in the trainer category, they will likely ask you for real world examples of the struggles team members went through as they were being trained on the new, agile, way of working. You'll also get questions around dealing with individuals who let the team do the work, while they sit back and relax.

01:10 pm January 26, 2021