Skip to main content

Full Stack Stories in "Scrum Team"

Last post 01:49 pm March 25, 2021 by Alessia Mariani
17 replies
05:53 pm March 11, 2021

Hi there,

I am a developer on a "scrum team".

The team is siloed into all the classic roles, SA/BA,DB, Backend, Frontend, QA.

"User stories" are assigned tasks by the person who is working on whatever layer needs work for the completion of the story.

We try to do "full stack" stories in order to deliver business value.

The frontend developers feel a lot of pressure to finish their work because they have to wait for backend deployments.

We've debated splitting the backend work and frontend work into separate stories, but the feature then spans multiple sprints.

Is it possible to deliver full stack stories within a sprint in a siloed team? 

If not, should we be splitting the business requirement into layers?

Even better, is anyone delivering full stack stories with a siloed team?

Thanks very much in advance.

07:20 pm March 11, 2021

Is it possible to deliver full stack stories within a sprint in a siloed team? 

It sounds as though silos are accepted, and people are trying to optimize around them.

Why not maximize transparency over the various delays, bottlenecks and other inefficiencies and challenge those silos which cause greatest impediment?

08:37 pm March 11, 2021

Some great questions from Ian.