Skip to main content

Which first? Agile or Scrum?

Last post 03:59 pm March 16, 2021 by Tibor Zsombory
3 replies
01:45 am March 16, 2021

Hi, a total beginner here... I have some old school project management experience outside the tech sector, but no Scrum or Agile knowledge.  But I intend to get a Scrum Master certification and also an Agile Methodologies certification of some kind.  Could anybody advise me on which one I should go for first and why?  Thank you!

08:23 am March 16, 2021

Scrum is one of many agile frameworks.  There may also be agile methodologies, but scrum is not one of them.  

This sites scrum master learning path includes the agile manifesto as well as its 12 principles.  It also lists some good books that you may or may not wish to read. 

10:02 am March 16, 2021

I'm not aware of any "agile methodologies" certification, and if I came across one, I'd be suspicious of its quality. Agile is not a methodology, but rather a set of values and principles. One of the earliest forms was Agile Software Development, but the underlying concepts have spread to other fields as well. It was created as an abstraction over the key ideas that worked from a number of different methodologies and frameworks - Extreme Programming, Scrum, Crystal, DSDM, Adaptive Software Development, and more.