Skip to main content

Product owner ability to change how a team plans

Last post 02:44 pm March 25, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
14 replies
06:37 pm March 16, 2021

Hello,

I have recently moved into a Product owner role with a new company. Prior to this I was a Business Systems Analyst. In my BSA role we were tasked with a lot of the responsibilities of the PO and Scrum master (priorities, running ceremonies, planning etc.) my prior company was focused on breaking user stories and tasks down to a very granular level, user stories able to be completed with in a few days, tasks no more than a days amount of work - this allowed us to under stand the capacity of developers and testers at a very micro level (maybe more to the appeasement of management) 

At my new company and role the teams do not get this granular. It is more of a quasi kanban method. Large development and testing tasks, and no daily or constant movement of items. This is causing issues in understanding capacity as well as understanding what can be delivered. 

my questions are as follows:

Does the PO have the ability to facilitate a change in doing work? - or should I be bringing this to the scrum master in trying to change that?

is the “old way I was used to doing it” needing to be deprogrammed from my head?

04:09 pm March 17, 2021

It sounds like the old way might indeed need to be "deprogrammed", but the new way also needs to be challenged. Neither seem to be reflective of good Scrum practices. Why isn't the team getting sufficiently granular to understand its capacity and ability to deliver? Is it up to you to provide a salve to this problem? What is the Scrum Master's take on this?

04:12 pm March 17, 2021

This is answered in the sprint planning chapter of the scrum guide: 

Topic Three: How will the chosen work get done?