Skip to main content

Scrum questions

Last post 02:44 pm March 28, 2021 by Sean Hoegaarden
5 replies
01:20 pm March 26, 2021

Hello team,

I am new to scrum methodologies,  I had the below three questions

1. I wanted to understand how capacity is planned in scrum, is there any formula to calculate it ?

2. Also what is the ideal gap which should be maintained between sprint velocity and capacity during a sprint cycle ?

3. What are the best engineering practices from scrum master point of view which he/she should adopt during a sprint cycle ? 

Looking for a positive reply from you all.

01:58 pm March 26, 2021

Firstly, scrum isn't a methodology, its a framework.  :-)

The Developers forecast their capacity based upon past performance using empiricism.  I don't think there is a formular for this, as the Developers determine how many PBIs they believe they can complete during sprint planning. 

Why do you want to measure velocity and capacity?  Please remember that if you do start measuring to ask the Developers what they wish to have measured and also remember that the measurements are only for the Developers and should not be used by management. 

I believe that capacity and velocity are two different things and should not be measured against each other. 

The Developers decide what engineering practices they wish to use in order to create the increment.  No one outside of the Developers can tell the Developers how they should be doing their work. 

Please review and understand the current version of the scrum guide in order to gain further insights into this framework. 

02:22 pm March 26, 2021

I am new to scrum methodologies,  I had the below three questions

Let's start with this. If Scrum was a methodology, and prescriptive answers to such questions existed, the value of Scrum would then be lost. Can you see why?

03:34 pm March 26, 2021

. I wanted to understand how capacity is planned in scrum, is there any formula to calculate it ?