Skip to main content

Looking for what to work on after obtaining my CSM, PSM-I, and PSPO-I / Looking for Scrum Master opportunities

Last post 10:23 pm April 1, 2021 by Thomas Owens
1 reply
04:27 pm April 1, 2021

Good afternoon everyone,

My name is John Erickson and I've been meaning to message the community for some time now. So that I don't make this post unnecessarily long a little bit about me:

• I have experience working in an Agile environment as part of the Development Team where we did not have a full-time Scrum Master, so myself and other developers filled in the role.
  • I have several years of experience as a Developer, which I believe heavily will benefit my ability to work with developers and communicate between Stakeholders, the Product Owner, and the Development Team.
  • I introduce the fundamentals of working with Agile and act as a Scrum Master facilitating Scrum ceremonies for students learning web development.

After getting laid off in late January from a full-time web developer role, I decided to fully commit to learning more about Agile in hopes of transitioning from a developer to a Scrum Master.

Over the past month plus I've obtained the following:

• CSM
  • PSM-I
  • PSPO-I
    • I obtained the PSPO-I so that I could better understand the Product Owner role and in turn become a better servant leader

Over the past month plus I've applied so likely a little shy of 100 roles, being in the greater Pittsburgh market or remote, but more often than not fall quite short of the desired experience; typically 3 years plus.

And finally comes the question:

My question is there any certification the community would recommend for someone who has Agile experience, but not acting as a full-time Scrum Master outside what I've already obtained which will help lend credibility and help differentiate me from other new Agilist? 

Any help and/or feedback would be greatly appreciated!

10:23 pm April 1, 2021