Skip to main content

An intern kindly needs help: Internal proxy product owners a bad idea for this usecase?

Last post 04:31 am April 3, 2021 by VD Tran
3 replies
12:03 pm April 2, 2021

Hi everyone, 

This is my first time posting on this forum, and I am quite new to the scrum methodology so please excuse me if I make any mistakes. 

I'm a student and I'm currently interning at a company where I am trying to understand if my supervisor's requirement is a bad idea, and I am trying to make a case with well thought out arguments. This is where I am kindly in need of the SCRUM forum's help. 

First a little context: I'm interning at a software company and I've been tasked to update the methodology of the intranet department. The company I'm interning at has 7 departments and combined these departments consists of about 75 employees. All of these employees use the internal system (intranet) to varying degrees. Most of the intranet department problems can be traced back to one issue; there is no clearly defined methodology and there is little to no standardization of the internal processes. This is where I come in. 

My internship supervisor wants me to implement a new methodology with 'proxy' product owners. This means every department has its own 'proxy' product owner representing their department's intranet needs. When I say intranet needs I mean potential bugs or certain features that employees would like to see added to the intranet. These 7 'proxy' product owners are in turn in direct contact with the intranet product owner. The intranet product owner is of course in contact with the development team and evaluates and prioritizes the requests they're getting from the 'proxy' product owners (see picture for more clarity).