Skip to main content

Epic, features, user story

Last post 06:08 pm April 8, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
7 replies
05:10 pm April 3, 2021

Hello Everyone,

I have to write business requirements with the agile methodology and I am kind of new to this.

I was wondering if epics, features are mandatory when writing user stories ?

Thanks for your help and have a good day !

06:09 pm April 3, 2021

They don't even have to be written; a user story is a placeholder for a conversation about a potential requirement.

Agile practice is founded on collaboration and emergence. My advice is to provide enough so the necessary conversations actually happen and take it from there.

09:10 pm April 3, 2021

Thank you Ian for your reply. 

As a newbie to agile, I was told that I have to follow the following hierachy : Epic > Feature > User Story or Epic > User story (depending on the size of the project).  So I am kind of confused.

What about the acceptance criteria in user story, are they mandatory or not ? And if I want to write them, do I have to follow the strucutre "given-when-then" ? 

Thanks 

05:33 am April 4, 2021

If you intend to follow the scrum framework, then you will realise after reviewing the scrum guide that there is no mention of user stories in it, which means that scrum neither dictates what techniques you can use with its framework nor how to use them. 

Concerning acceptance criteria, scrum provides a commitment to the increment(s) that get(s) created during each sprint called the Definition of Done (DoD). 

The Definition of Done is a formal description of the state of the Increment when it meets the quality measures required for the product.

The moment a Product Backlog item meets the Definition of Done, an Increment is born.