Skip to main content

Backlog and Sprint Goal

Last post 02:50 pm April 12, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
05:56 pm April 10, 2021

I inherited a backlog of over 120 items consisting of bug fixes, features, epic, and user story.  In order to develop a plan of action for each sprint, what is the recommended approach?  Should I look at bug fixes first, then features, etc...

Since I am new to the organization, I don't know the backlog priority yet as I am the product owner.

04:27 am April 11, 2021

I believe that you should first understand the organisations vision and where the product fits into it.  This should help you create your own vision for the product as well as a product goal which is the commitment to the product backlog and is included in the PB. 

Remember that the PO is accountable to maximise the value that the scrum team creates with each increment. 

To understand the current PBIs you should have the developers and stakeholders explain to you what the product actually does, etc. 

You may also wish to decide to remove any existing PBIs that are of a certain age, because if they are still important they will be requested against by the relevant stakeholder. 

During sprint planning, the scrum team come up with a sprint goal based on your product goal, and use that to select the relevant PBIs from the PB for placement into the sprint backlog. 

05:17 am April 11, 2021

In order to develop a plan of action for each sprint, what is the recommended approach?

Agile practice is about mastering the ability to innovate by learning to build the right thing at the right time. Each Sprint is an opportunity to do so. What do you want to learn first about the product and the value it provides?

10:45 am April 11, 2021