Skip to main content

Purpose of the Sprint

Last post 07:06 pm May 18, 2022 by Piotr Górajek
4 replies
06:06 pm April 22, 2021

I might be missing something here (or I'm being much too literal) but I'm studying for the PSM-I Certification and I've come across an item that might be a bit unclear (to me) yet asked on the Open Assessment and other practice sites.  

QUESTION:   The purpose of a Sprint is to produce a valuable and useful Increment of working product?  TRUE OR FALSE  (CORRECT ANSWER - TRUE)

While I accept that is a TRUE Statement - no where in the Scrum Guide does it actually state this fact in so many words.

However, I've also seen it stated on my Scrum.org Class Documents as "the purpose of the Sprint is to turn ideas into value" - which can also be considered a true statement.  And so if I chose "FALSE" to the original question because I'm following the written documents given to me by the instructor, should I really be getting the question wrong?    Or should I just conform to the "assumed" purpose EVEN IF the Scrum Guide does not explicitly define it as such?   And why doesn't the Guide Define the purpose of the Sprint? (It does define the purpose of the Daily Scrum, Sprint Review, the Sprint Retrospective) 

Thanks for the consideration and feedback. I'm curious to learn how others view this very small issue as I channel some "courage" to address this forum for the first time. 

07:36 pm April 23, 2021

The Scrum Guide says: "The entire Scrum Team is accountable for creating a valuable, useful Increment every Sprint." There's no other accountability shared by all team members which is enumerated in the Guide.

08:31 pm April 23, 2021

The current version of the Scrum Guide does define the purpose of the Sprint.

All the work necessary to achieve the Product Goal, including Sprint Planning, Daily Scrums, Sprint Review, and Sprint Retrospective, happen within Sprints.