Skip to main content

SM role in a scrum proficient team

Last post 02:36 pm May 10, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
07:40 pm May 6, 2021

I am a developer working as a scrum master in a team where they have a pretty good understanding of scrum.

Development work aside, my scrum duties that I am doing are:

• Leading stand-ups: We have a modified version which, in work from home times, ensures that information and impediments are clearly mentioned.
  • Leading retrospectives: Not unsimilar to the above, praising the good points, setting action points for the bad points and assigning them.
  • Doing administrative work in Jira: Modifying workflows, anything that needs back end work with Jira.
  • Statistics: I used to fill up data to show statistics; how long on average a certain story point takes us mostly, stuff that helps the PO to have an idea of how much work the team can handle in a sprint, this is being delegated to a team member as they are more statistics proficient.

The above takes me like 5-10% of my time at most, and I do not feel that I am indisposable for the team, as a scrum master.

SM duties according to the scrum guide:

• Coaching the team members: I get this when the team is new to scrum, but not with a team that understands well scrum.
  • Helping the Scrum Team focus on creating high-value Increments: I am not sure what this is about, and how a scrum master can help with this.
  • Causing the removal of impediments: There is a couple of seniors in their discipline in the team, and they are good at raising these, so no need to delegate this to a sole person.
  • Ensuring that all Scrum events take place and are positive, productive, and kept within the timebox: this, I understand, and I am doing that.

So my question is, scrum masters that are also part of the development team, what do you do and what are your responsibilities and how are you affecting the team.