Skip to main content

How to Incorporate Product Documentation - Any Literature?

Last post 02:34 pm May 25, 2021 by Chris Despopoulos
6 replies
03:00 pm May 14, 2021

I'm a tech writer. I've worked in Scrum environments for 20 years now.  Not once (literally) has there been a remote possibility to grant a tech writer 100% membership on a team. I have been the sole support for as many as 9 teams concurrently, and now am in a team of 3 writers supporting 11 development teams.  Ratios of 1:15 or more are just a reality these days, so there's no way a writer can be assigned 100% to a team.  Also, no team needs a devoted writer for every sprint.

Yes, I have read the manifesto (Working software over comprehensive documentation).  Whether the manifesto can admit it or not, to sell certain types of software you must provide comprehensive documentation -- the customer demands it (sometimes as a point of legality).  Let me put it this way...  Would YOU pay a million dollars for software that doesn't have documentation?  Only a commodity (a toaster) doesn't need documentation (actually, by law a toaster DOES need documentation).  An undocumented marvel is great, but risks being a loose canon likely to burn money, or worse (like...  kill people?)  I hope this forum is not devoted to makers of commodities and loose canons. </soapbox>