Skip to main content

Training Classes Advice

Last post 07:47 pm October 8, 2021 by Ruth Russell
4 replies
03:24 pm October 6, 2021

Apologies if this question isn't allowed - feel free to remove it!

If you could afford to pay for the Scrum Master II class (around $ 1400) would you do that over the IC Agile Coaching & Facilitation classes (both add up to around £1400/1600)?

Thanks for any advice.

11:33 pm October 7, 2021

Hi Ruth - I hesitated on giving an answer since I teach the PSM II and I have bias. But since no one responded I will share a few things. The answer depends on where you are in your journey and what skills you are looking to gain. Both courses are excellent and I learned a lot from both, and Scrum Masters can benefit from both.

As a student I've taken both the PSM II and the IC Agile bootcamp which includes the Coaching and Facilitation. Both sets of instructors were highly qualified and made both courses enjoyable.

If you love Scrum and want to improve upon what you already know, the PSM II might be for you. It isn't a pure coaching class though. The PSM II is not a class about learning new things about the Scrum Framework or its complementary practices (i.e. user stories and story points), but about deepening your understanding of its values and principles. The PSM II is a continuation of the journey into Scrum. It delves into the challenges that Scrum Masters face and reflects more deeply on how the principles and values of Scrum inform what a Scrum Master should (not) do in those situations. You'll work with other experienced Scrum Masters to learn over 30 techniques you can take back and use with your Scrum Teams right away to be an effective Scrum Master.