Skip to main content

Is It Normal To Feel Chaos and Like An Outsider as an Agile Coach

Last post 04:37 am October 8, 2021 by Simon Mayer
7 replies
12:32 pm October 7, 2021

I've been an agile coach for about 9 months and lately I feel like my team is really performing and working well together.  This makes me happy as it is the goal for my team and the organization I work for.  However, I can't help but feel a little distant from the team, almost like I'm an outsider.  I spend a lot of my days blocking impediments for the team, refining acceptance criteria, and making sure our board is working well and our backlog has the appropriate and right amount of work to pull.  While I really enjoy the work and the role, it feels like my day is often somewhat chaotic and that there are many tap-on-the-shoulders and interruptions.  However, my team has expressed to me that they feel like they are working so much more efficiently (our analytics show this too) than they did in pre-agile days and that they don't feel the push of work on them like they used to so I feel I am doing my job well.  My only other experience in an agile environment was as a development member of a team years ago where I felt the true performing and teamwork that agile can offer when implemented and practiced well.

So my question is, is it normal for the agile coach to feel that chaos and feel somewhat distant or outside the team?  Or am I doing this whole coaching thing wrong?  I'm not sure if it is the job of the agile coach to take those tap-on-the-shoulders to shield the team from them or if I am just falling back into the old way of doing things?  My feelings are somewhat muddied by the fact that I am also a developer on the team, although with my coaching duties, I don't get much development done.

Thanks for any feedback or advice!

06:27 pm October 7, 2021