Skip to main content

Product owner is not a commette? but it is!

Last post 09:13 am October 17, 2021 by Ab Ete
4 replies
01:43 pm October 15, 2021

The vision of the project I'm working on is to build an "orchestration platform".

It means that will orchestrate different existing applications.

I should be the "technical" product owner of the platform. However:

1. each existing platform has its own product owner

2. my business knowledge is limited, I'm no domain expert, I have to rely heavily on people with business knowledge to understand business requirements and user stories.

3. my technology knowledge is also limited either because obsolete, either because different from what I know. I need to rely heavily on technical leaders to understand stories and tasks.

4. the "team" working on the orchestration platform is often borrowed from other applications and working part-time on the orchestration.

5. the teams working on other applications use scrum and/or kanban, with different sprint timelines, cerimonies and structures.

I think I could bring some experience in the process of building a product, prioritize features and story mapping, however, it's clear to me that each product has its own priorities and its own product owner.

I'm trying to organize a "team" of product owners, to align processes and methodology.

I'm trying to participate in all dailies, even if it's a bit time-consuming. Even more for developers that have to attend 2-3 daily meetings per day.

I gave up actually organizing daily for my core team, as it's embedded in other dailies.

I find all this a bit challenging and confusing.

It's not easy to organize "scrum of scrum" between selected people as it seems that everybody wants to know information first-hand, we are spending time in endless meetings.

Any suggestion is welcome. I read a lot of things about "fluid teams", feature teams, etc, but it seems all very abstract compared to my real situation

02:28 pm October 15, 2021