Skip to main content

Extremely frustrated Product Owner

Last post 07:59 pm October 19, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
02:50 pm October 19, 2021

I struggle to enter into my role of  Product Owner (?). The project I'm working on, it's kind of the creation of an ecosystem for selling specific products.  But it's not an ecosystem built from scratch, it's based on a lot of existing software systems that must be integrated by 5-6 different teams.

Speaking with stakeholders, they care only about very high-level features and when the "features" will be available. But the "features" are so big, like "creating a social network for users". They don't care or don't mind what users will do on the network, as far as it related to product sales. And they want to know when it will be available for their customers. I'm throwing to them dates without much understanding the scope of the features.

Technical people, don't understand what I'm doing in the project, because I'm a former developer who is not very updated on new technologies. And they are more comfortable speaking with UI designers and business people, rather than getting second-hand requirements from me. But they are getting technical input from me also, because they should build an "ecosystem" not a web application and some decisions they make could have an impact on the overarching ecosystem goal or the final business model.

UX designers are getting input from many people, including me. Prospective customers are very much involved in the UX design, so much that they are sometimes bending the "product" to their limited scope.

I've tried a story mapping exercise, but it turns out that it's too high level for technical people and too low level for business people.

I try to set up technical meetings with people from different teams involved in integration, but my role there is basically down to selecting time slots in outlook. As soon I "introduce" people, most of the meaningful conversations happen without me.