Skip to main content

Prospective Scrum Master

Last post 05:22 pm October 22, 2021 by Margis Degefe
3 replies
04:01 pm October 21, 2021

Hello, any advice would greatly be appreciated. I was always interested in Scrum but never really decided to move forward until recently. I have been studying and will take the PSM1 any day now. 

So no background in IT project management. However, I managed a business for quite a while and structured the whole company into adopting scrum like practices of self reliance and promoting accountability. The more I studied scrum, the more it made sense that it could be applied on everyday things even personal life and currently using scrum practices on a home renovation construction project. My contractor asked me to coach him about agile management techniques and wants me to coach his other employees for a discounted price on my home renovation, he is aware of my experience but is very happy on how work was being done that he didn’t mind my lack of experience. Thankfully, the construction workers were on board and were thankful how clear their tasks were. Applying it helped me greatly understand the theory and it’s uses.

My question is how do you demonstrate to recruiters that you have what it takes to be a good scrum master with no experience. I feel like I would make a great scrum master, due to my business experience as well as leadership qualities and a deep understanding of scrum and many transferable skills. Most importantly, I am really eager and really believe in the scrum theory...

Please help on next steps...

06:35 pm October 21, 2021

My question is how do you demonstrate to recruiters that you have what it takes to be a good scrum master with no experience. 

What complexities were faced in the renovation project you described, and how was empiricism used to manage the associated risks?

If I was a recruiter I suppose I might ask something like that, and thereby consider the experience you do have.