Skip to main content

New Junior SM HELP!

Last post 08:46 am November 18, 2021 by Niall Fallon
4 replies
10:51 am November 17, 2021

Hi Guys, 

Was wondering if anyone had any advice, I've recently been assigned a Junior SM position. Although I am not yet certified I have some experience with facilitating daily stand-ups and retrospectives.

What advice can you give to a complete newbie on how to effectively work their role?

Many Thanks, 

Saj

10:10 pm November 17, 2021
  1. Keep learning and looking for opportunities to be proved wrong, about your understanding of Scrum, but also about the teams, organizations, stakeholders and products your work with.

Read the Scrum Guide (multiple times), and look for other learning resources.

It's a great sign that you're already here, looking for advice!

2. Scrum relies on empiricism. Consider the "three pillars" of empiricism: transparency, inspection, and adaptation, and reflect on the way they connect to the different aspects of Scrum, such as the roles, artifacts and events.

Consider whether the right things are transparent to the right people. If they are transparent, consider whether the right people are making good use of that transparency to inspect the right things at the right time. If they are inspecting, are those people trying to adapt in order to improve? Are the adaptations transparent, and then also being inspected and adapted?

3. Scrum will not solve all of your problems, but it may make those problems painfully obvious. Once the problems are transparent, you and your colleagues will need to do the difficult work to solve them. Help others make those problems transparent, help the Scrum Team, leaders and stakeholders inspect and adapt to make things better. If Scrum feels like more of a hindrance than a help, try to understand the underlying causes of the problem. Rather than try to change Scrum to ease the pain, continue to expose that pain, and use that as an incentive to tackle the problem.