Skip to main content

role of the customer

Last post 03:27 pm November 26, 2018 by user soonero
8 replies
10:02 am February 3, 2013

hi !
what best describes the role of the customer in scrum?
can he or she be the product owner / Is he or she part of a PO team?
Should he or she be involved into the sprint planning or review meeting?

I'm interested in some Feedback from the real life not so much from the theory.

What do you think?

Thanks a lot !
Chrsitof

11:55 pm February 3, 2013

I am new to scrum and below are the points from best of my knowledge

1. Customer is the person or committee who has best of knowledge about the product. Product owner is one person from within that committee.

2. Product owner (PO) is not a set of team according to Scrum guide but PO is a person who represents the desires of committee in the product backlog.

3. Product owner should participate in sprint planning meeting as well as review meeting.

Hope this helps.

07:46 am February 4, 2013

The customer is not known in scrum. A possible role for a customer is to be the product owner. It is the role that best fit. The reality may be a little bit different when the product is build externally or the product may be first decided from many different decision sources, in that case you will need a customer proxy, somebody that represent the customer best interests. In the real world i don't know so much "customer" interesting to became a product owner, they prefer to delegate to a proxy. The proxy as product owner has the responsibility that the stakeholders understand and agree to the scrum process and define how the priority/value will be defined and fixed (this is outside scrum but have to be very clear).