Skip to main content

Impact of Flight Levels on Scrum Teams, particularly at scale

Last post 05:16 pm November 29, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
3 replies
07:41 am November 29, 2021

I've been hearing a bit about Flight Levels lately, but I'd like to hear if anyone from this community could share their perspective, before I decide whether to dive down the rabbit hole, and invest time into learning more about it, or potentially introduce the concept to my colleagues. I'm a novice in this subject, so I welcome a range of perspectives, and even critical feedback if you think my way of looking at it can be problematic.

As I understand, it's about trying to visualize the transfer of information at an operational level (level 1), at a strategic level (level 3) and a co-ordination level between them (level 2), and that a disconnect between levels 1 and 3 is a fairly common pattern that a lot of organizations experience.

Instinctively, Flight Levels feels like an approach that would become increasingly relevant for larger organizations, and so I'm wondering what insights people have about when to apply it, or what indicators to watch for, that something like this might be useful.

My biggest unvalidated concern is that it could lead to a layer of processes or people at level 2, which may (implicitly or explicitly) encourage Scrum Teams or some of their members to stay at level 1.

When might level 2 not be needed? Or at least, when might level 2 best be kept to an as-thin-as-possible, informal lens of inspection?

Could the relevance of Flight Levels be reduced or eliminated if each team has a well-defined product that it can independently map back to the organizational strategy?

What other alternatives might there be?

09:47 am November 29, 2021

They sound like constraint levels to me, and an alternative I'd choose might be to recognize them as such. The acknowledgment of a frozen middle or a management bubble can sometimes help with transparency for example.